Winners & Results 2017

You are here: Home » Events & Dining » Great Train Race » Winners & Results 2017

2017 full results and race certificates.

Find out how many runners beat the race trains, how you went compared to the other runners and whether you beat your time from last year! 

Full results in finishing order - View

Full results in alphabetical order - View

Download your runner certificate here

View photos and videos from the race.

Would you like to see how you went compared to previous Great Train Race's? Click here to log in!



Great Train Race winners with driver at locomotive

Female winner Gemma Maini, the race train driver and male winner Nick Earl with Puffing Billy. 

Category Bib # Time Name Suburb
First Male 4521 43:10 Nick Earl Parkville
Second Male 3742 43:42 Craig Appleby Cockatoo
Third Male 4179 43:49 Michael Marantelli Southbank
First Female 2543 49:12 Gemma Maini Mount Eliza
Second Female 2638 51:03 Erchana Murray-Bartlett Prahran
Third Female 2275 51:11 Cassie Higham Oakleigh South
First Race Train 2000 55:24    
Second Race Train 3000 72:09    
Under 18 Male 4660 51:49 Corey Dickson Bayswater
Under 18 Female 2669 53:01 Jaimee-Lee Code Narre Warren North
Veteran Male 4214 48:50 Shane Thiele South Yarra
Veteran Female 2640 57:58 Elizabeth Maguire North Ward
Winning Team   185:33  Knox Athletes  
  3742 43:42 Craig Appleby Cockatoo
  4544 45:35 David Friend Heathmont
  4233 46:55 Mark Richards Belgrave Heights
  4187 49:21 Graham Bergroth Cockatoo
Runners on Day   2,213 (Excludes race trains) 
Runners Beating 1st Train Total 125  
  Males 118  
  Females 7  
Runners Beating 2nd Train Total 1,123  
  Males 935  
  Females 188  

These Official Results are calculated using the "Net Time" (the time from when you crossed the start line to when you crossed the finish line). Runners "Gun Time" (the time from when the actual Race clock began) will also be available in each 'Runners Certificate'.

Images courtesy of Karen Gunn